The Indy Autonomous Challenge (IAC), an autonomous racecar competition at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS), has announced the IAC events currently scheduled for October 23, 2021, at IMS. Activities include the Autonomous Innovation Summit, bringing together global thought leaders and experts from industry, academia and government to discuss the status of the autonomous technology industry and explore ways to accelerate and amplify the benefits of an autonomous mobility future.

A showcase of advanced technologies from competing university teams and IAC industry sponsors will be held on the IMS grounds. These activities will be in addition to the IAC university team racecar competition, featuring the Dallara AV-21 autonomous racecars. High school students from Indiana and beyond, interested in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) are invited to attend the events. The Indiana Economic Development Corporation, Indiana Department of Education and the STARTedUP Foundation are leading the effort to coordinate high school student attendance. Indiana Governor Eric Holcomb said:

“This is an historic and exciting day for Indiana, which has taken the lead in hosting this first-of-its kind technology demonstration for the best and brightest of university students from around the world. Through our work with the IAC, we also want to inspire the next generation of innovators and technologists.”

University Teams Competing in the Indy Autonomous Challenge

  • AI Racing Tech – University of Hawai’i, University of California San Diego
  • Autonomous Tiger Racing – Auburn University
  • Black & Gold Autonomous Racing – Purdue University, United States Military Academy at West Point
  • Cavalier Autonomous Racing – University of Virginia
  • EuroRacing – University of Modena and Reggio Emilia (Italy), University of Pisa (Italy), ETH Zürich (Switzerland), Polish Academy of Sciences (Poland)
  • IUPUI-IITKGP-USB – Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (India), Universidad de San Buenaventura (Colombia)
  • KAIST – Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (South Korea)
  • MIT-PITT-RW – Massachusetts Institute of Technology, University of Pittsburgh, Rochester Institute of Technology, University of Waterloo (Canada)
  • PoliMOVE – Politecnico di Milano (Italy), University of Alabama
  • TUM Autonomous Motorsport – Technische Universität München (Germany)
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Editor @ DevStyleR